WEBINAR: GRAPH PATH SEARCH WITH GRAPHDB 9.9 AND METAPHACTORY 4.3

Hands-on tutorial on how GraphDB enters the Property Graph’s stronghold: exploring paths between nodes.
And a demonstration of how metaphactory brings it to the end users in an interactive and intuitive manner.

WEBINAR OVERVIEW

Knowledge Graphs have become a popular trend in the representation of complex data, metadata and content. They offer comprehensive, consistent and unified views to information scattered across different divisions, systems and paradigms. Unsurprisingly, Knowledge Graphs are most often associated with data integration, linking, unification and information reuse because of the huge value generated by their data standardization and semantic modeling capabilities. Still, the semantic data integration task is only part of the story.

Search and graph exploration are key tools for successfully utilizing knowledge graphs. Path finding between resources can additionally enable more complex use cases which previously left users struggling. Ontotext and metaphacts can generate a lot of value on top of Knowledge Graphs in analytical use cases through graph path search and interactive visualization.

In this webinar, Ontotext and metaphacts will explain why graph path search is a computationally expensive task and will present the graph path search implementation in GraphDB. We will compare how the different RDF and property graph databases implement it and will dive into how GraphDB extends the SPARQL 1.1 standard to fully support all significant graph path search use cases.

In order to give you a feeling about the scalability and efficiency of our implementation, we will test GraphDB and other engines against LDBC’s Semantic Network Benchmark – one of the most advanced benchmarks for graph analytics, implemented for Property Graphs/Cypher, RDF/SPARQL and even SQL.

In the second part of the webinar, we will demonstrate how the new graph path search algorithm available in GraphDB 9.9 can be exposed to end users with the upcoming metaphactory 4.3 release. We will share a specific use case, taken from the clinical trial domain: How a researcher can find connections between study investigators and various other resources, like targets and diseases, which will allow them to further investigate discovered studies or medications.

WHAT YOU WILL LEARN

  • Graph path search fundamentals
  • Features in the "vanilla" SPARQL 1.1 limiting the exploration of paths in a graph
  • Demonstration on how graph path search is exposed to end-users in the upcoming metaphactory 4.3 release
  • New extension in GraphDB 9.9 to enable complex graph pattern search in SPARQL compliant manner and
  • Testing GraphDB performance against LDBC’s Social Network Benchmark

THIS WEBINAR WAS RECORDED AND IS AVAILABLE ON-DEMAND

TIME & PLACE

This webinar will be hosted by Ontotext and will take place on
September 16, 2021 at 8am PDT | 11am EDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST | 6pm EEST

Target Audience

Any novice or advanced RDF database users
Technologists willing to compare Property Graph vs. RDF
Data scientists and everyone involved in graph analytics
Current and future users of GraphDB and metaphactory

Expected duration

45 minutes presentation
15 minutes Q&A session

PRESENTERS

Tomas Kovachev - Software Developer
Sebastian Schmidt - CEO, metaphacts

metaphactory Logo
GraphDB Logo